Experienced Legal Defense For Underage DUI Charges
The legal age to consume alcohol in Virginia is 21. Anyone under that age who consumes alcohol and operates a motor vehicle may face a charge of underage driving under the influence (DUI). While an adult must generally have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher to be charged with a DUI in Virginia, a person under the age of 21 may be charged if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a BAC of as little as .02 percent or higher.
It is not necessary to show that a minor was impaired while driving in order to gain a conviction. Merely proving the person consumed alcohol and operated a motor vehicle is sufficient under the law.
At The Law Office of Louis K. Nagy, PLC, in Harrisonburg, we represent minors who face underage DUI charges or any other criminal charge in Rockingham, Augusta and Shenandoah Counties.
Virginia’s implied consent law requires a motorist to submit to a blood or breath test if that person is legally arrested for suspicion of DUI. Refusal to take the test can result in a one-year suspension of your driver’s license on the first conviction and a three-year suspension for subsequent convictions.
Defending Your Rights And Minimizing The Impact Of An Arrest
The penalties for underage DUI are severe. A first-time conviction could result in up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2,500, a mandatory minimum fine or community service and suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year. In some cases, a driver may petition the court for a restricted driver’s license that allows him or her to drive to work or school.
In addition to the criminal penalties, a conviction will likely result in a significant increase in the person’s insurance rates or the cancellation of a policy. If the person is a student at James Madison University, a neighboring college or university, or a Virginia high school, additional action may be taken by school administrators.
Meet With A Lawyer Who Can Help
Clearly, an underage DUI can have a significant negative impact on a young person’s life. If you have been arrested for underage drunk driving or if your son or daughter has been arrested for underage drunk driving, it is important to enlist the help of an experienced DUI attorney. Our firm knows how to minimize the impact of an underage DUI charge. Call 540-315-8450 or use our online contact form to schedule a meeting.